Posted by: Suresh Sundarababu | November 7, 2014

Relentless Pursuit of Purpose – Why I want everything!

10675697_10152352930076074_7854616105272140748_n

My wife recently sent me this info-graphic that has been circulating around with a note that said this reminded her of me and how I am trying to live my life at the center! I am usually not one that feels proud of too many things but at that moment I felt a teeny tiny bit of pride that my better half in everything, my friend and partner actually got me!

This info-graphic is one of the most inspirational things I have seen in a while. And I started wondering why the pursuit of that center was such an important part of my life. And if I didn’t at least share my rationale of why everyone should go for that center and may be in that process even help others get there then it would be meaningless.

Take this, as always, with a big pinch of salt because it is not necessarily easy for most to comprehend the craziness that is my philosophy of life!

There is absolutely nothing wrong with being in any of those intersection of two circles. In fact to get things done in this world we need people who are good at those intersections. But in my humble opinion, all of us are meant to find that center and we are given that opportunity to do so until we get in our own way!

Here are a few reasons why we are all meant to selfishly want every bit of those circles and should relentlessly aim for that center.

  • Skills: Each of us are blessed with a certain set of skills. These are the ones that without much of an effort comes naturally to us and sometimes it is hard to explain why certain things are so effortless. It could be anything – being good with creating things with your hand or being able to scale a business or have a crazy idea that changes the world – but we all have it and love it. And there is a reason we are given those skills and definitely not to just put it aside to be ignored.
  • Duty: World needs it is the easiest thing to say. But most of us say it and subconsciously think that it is someone else’s responsibility to meet that need. The world needs every one of the 7 billion of us to make it a better place. And if you agree that your innate skills is a blessing that has been given to you then you have a duty to use those skills to fulfill the needs of this world. Otherwise it is a waste of a blessing!
  • Accomplishment: I don’t know of anyone who doesn’t want to feel like they are useful for something and feel a sense of accomplishment. And if you fulfill your duty of using those skills that you are blessed with and love, to meet certain needs of this world, wouldn’t that be a very satisfying life to lead and wouldn’t you have a sense of being useful instead of just being 1 in a 7 billion?
  • Accountability: Life is full of accountability to people around us. And sometimes we let these be a hindrance instead of using it as a catalyst to unleash ourselves. We absolutely have a responsibility to provide for our family, but I submit humbly that by itself should not relegate us to not aim for that center. I also believe that we have accountability beyond this life. The science and the miracle that is each of us did not just randomly happen to get those useful skills to just waste away and hope that it won’t be noticed. It was given to us with a hope that we use it and I for one want to be on the right side of that equation.
  • Legacy: At the end of the day it is all about leaving the world I touch a better place than when I came in. And I admit each of those intersections by themselves will allow us to leave at least some portions of the world we touch a better place. Hence my statement earlier about there is nothing wrong with that. But there is an exponential explosion of being that comes from relentlessly pursuing that center and living in it. The reward of an inner peace that comes with it is priceless.

And all of the things I mentioned above is not a fantasy or a mindless narration of someone who doesn’t get what the real world is. It is absolutely possible. And if I, an immigrant from India who came to this country with nothing, graduated with a huge debt and face(d) normal challenges in life that most face can do it, then so can you.

Because the world needs what you are great at and love. And yes with a little bit of perseverance you can get paid for it as well!

Unleash yourself and let the power of relentless purpose drive you to an inner peace starting today.

Leave a Reply

Categories

